KNAUF'S FEED MILL
For the Knauf Mill project, the original mill is being converted into a single family residence.
The mill was originally built in 1890, and after suffering a fire, was rebuilt in 1901. The mill was owned and operated by the Knauf family, first as a working feed / grinding mill, and later as a feed store from 1901 until the early 1990's.
The mill is a large and well-known landmark in the historic town of Harmony Borough. The town, establish in 1804 and incorporated in 1840, has a vibrant historical district with many original buildings dating to the early 19th century, and a local history dating back to the earliest settlement of western PA.
Ashlar AE worked closely with the owners and the contractor to maintain the building's exterior look of the feed mill and offer a unique one-of-a-kind interior accenting the structure of the old building.
The project is currently under construction and is scheduled to be completed at the end of 2019.